Hair-Loss Solutions for the Community

The majority of my blog posts that I have created so far have been very heavy in nature and I wanted to create something a tad bit different.  One of the biggest areas that one begins exploring when starting their transition, in regards to lifestyle, is the area of beauty.  This can include various facets such as makeup application, fashion (which deserves its own special category), and also hair.  Because individuals such as myself, who are biologically male, are prone to male pattern baldness, concerns with hair can be very important to address.  I use to have very thick hair as a child, but in the last 5 years or so I have noticed a significant thinning of my hair, particularly the thinning of the hair strand itself, as well as a receding hair line.  This makes me very sad because appearance is something that usually important to just about everybody and these things make me feel like I have to work harder to feel beautiful.  It isn’t so much what other people think of me that I am concerned with, however, but how I feel inside.

I have grown my hair out the last few years and have made such progress, but my thinning hair has made things a little difficult.  Putting my hair up, something every girl with long hair does almost daily, is something that makes me feel self conscience because one can see the tell-tale “M” look of my hairline that remind at least myself of the fact that I am a biological male.  Because my hair stands are thin my ponytail is also thin in diameter, and it makes me look longingly at other girls who have such thick tresses and thick ponytail that look so adorable.  On me I feel it makes me look like an old Latino trucker that has refused to cut their hair because they are holding on to that last remembrance of their younger years.

Maybe this last part is a bit dramatic, but nonetheless I still feel self-conscience when it comes to my hair.

I, in the recent years, have stumbled upon research about the miracle pill of the male pattern baldness world that is finasteride (Propecia).  This pill is supposed to counteract the causes of MPB and help individuals with this ailment keep the hair that they still have while also offering a hope of re-growing thicker hair strands.  All the research supports the use of this drug for the purpose of helping with the problems of MPB, and the use of this drug combined with two other products, ketoconazole shampoo (Nizoral)  and minoxidil (Rogaine), has been shown to produce very favorable and amplified results.

I have a shipment of these three products, often referred to as the Big Three in the hair-loss world, and will be adding them to my daily routine in the hopes of favorable gains in my quest for healthier and more desirable hair.  I will try to update my progress on this journey so that maybe others in my shoes can perhaps find a solution to the same problem that I have.  I will most likely list the prices and sources of these items on my next blog that I write about this topic, but for now suffice to say that I am pretty excited to start this routine and look forward to seeing the end results.

LoveXOXO,

Hayden

Leave a comment